My Favourite Fake Tans to make your Winter Glow

img_2649

Everyone that knows me knows that I have a slight obsession with buying and trying out new fake tanners, and for all of you that don’t know me I think you can tell I have this fascination from the photo above. With winter on the horizon my collection is only getting larger, so here’s my review of what’s hot and what’s not to help you pick the best fake tan to make your winter shine.

St. Tropez Self Tan Bronzing Gel

img_2650

Price: £21.25 (Amazon)

I am a massive fan of St. Tropez products and this one is no exception. The only down side is that it’s slightly tacky and unsmooth to apply because of the gel consistency. However, the guide tan helps you apply the product streak free and the overall result after showering the base tan off is a deeply bronzed yet natural colour.

 

Palmers Natural Bronze Body Lotion

img_2651

Price: £5.59 (Superdrug)

This gradual tan smells strongly of chocolate which I think is delicious, and makes it stand out to many others, although I can see that it may be overpowering for some people. That being said, the product glides on the skin perfectly which makes the finished result streak free, subtle and natural.

 

St. Tropez Self Tan Bronzing Lotion

img_2652

Price: £10.99 (Amazon)

I am absolutely obsessed with this fake tan. There is a subtle base tan to help you apply the silky tan streak free and effortlessly. After leaving it on overnight and showering off in the morning it provides you with a deep, natural and long lasting glow.

 

Skinny Tan 7 Day Tanner

img_2653

Price: £19.99 (Superdrug)

Although I was initially reluctant to buy this new product because of the pricy price tag, I can honestly say I am so glad I did. The silky tan is easy to apply with its lovely base tan and smells deliciously of coconuts. Unlike many other tan, after wearing the tan over night, I woke up to the same pleasant coconut smell and not the usual biscuity aroma. After showering I was pleasantly left with a deep and natural tan. And surprisingly, as the name suggests, this tan does last 7 days, although it did fade and turn a little patchy about 5 days after applying it.

 

Dove Summer Glow Nourishing Lotion

img_2654

Price: £1.00 (Superdrug)

This gradual tanner is perfect for everyday use, it gives you a subtle colour which can be built up with regular use. This tan also leaves your skin silky smooth. The only down side is that the product does contain a lot of glitter, because I bought the shimmer version instead of the usual matte one, however the glitter washes away in the shower.

 

Solait 60 Minute Express Tan

img_2655

Price: £7.99 (Superdrug)

With St. Tropez’s 1 hour tan retailing for over £30, I was intrigued to try this budget version for a fraction of the price. The foam glided on the skin easily and didn’t leave the skin feeling dry, like a lot of other foam fake tans. This product can be left on for one to four hours, so I decided to shower it off after 2 hours. I was really surprised by how developed the colour was, it was darker than expected after only leaving it on for two hours. I was really happy with the colour, although in some lights it does have a yellow hue, which is slightly unnatural. The product also needs to be reapplied around every 4 days to stop the tan from fading. For a quick and cheap tan fix this product is perfect.

 

 

No. 7 Perfectly Bronzed Tinted Lotion

img_2656

Price: £12.95 (Boots)

This tan glides on the skin beautifully and doesn’t have a strong over powering smell. After showering the tan off after leaving it on overnight it leaves you with a natural, smooth and subtle colour, although I would recommend two applications to give you a deeper tanned colour.

 

Sinless Sun Self Tan Crème

img_2657

Price: £5.99 (Superdrug)

With the budget price tag I didn’t expect much of this tan, and I am still undecided. The crème is more like a gel when applied which makes the product difficult to put on the skin, it also sits on top of the skin leaving you feeling sticky whilst the colour is developing. The base colour is also very dark which was a little daunting. However, after I showered the product off the next morning I was so pleasantly surprised by the result. The sticky dark base tan washed away and left me with a deep yet natural colour which lasted quite a long time, around five days. Would definitely recommend for any bargain hunters like myself.

 

Bondi Sands Dark Self-Tanning Foam

img_2658

Price: £9.95 (Superdrug)

As soon as I opened the bottle this tan smelt deliciously of coconut and vanilla and not harsh and chemically like some fake tans, which was promising. However, I was slightly let down as the foam wasn’t that easy to apply, it really has to be worked into the skin with the mitt in order for an even result. I left the product on overnight and showered it off in the morning and I was left with an even, natural golden colour. Even though I was happy with the colour it wasn’t as “dark” as the name on the packaging applies, which may disappoint some people.

Leave a Reply

