Vegan Leek and Potato Soup

Here’s my cheap and easy vegan leek and potato soup recipe, perfect for a rainy day.

IMG_1140.JPG

So I have come home from university to spend Easter weekend with my family, however today we are housebound due to the torrential rain, so I though what better way to cure my boredom, and to procrastinate from writing my dissertation, than to make lunch for my whole family.

I searched the cupboards and found all the ingredients, and more, needed to make leek and potato soup, so that was the dish of the day. Below I’ll show you all the ingredients needed and the method I used to make this delectable heart-warming dish.

Ingredients

3 medium carrots

3 medium parsnips

225g potatoes

2 medium leeks

1 tbsp vegetable oil

1 vegetable stock cube

1 pint of boiling water (to add the stock cube to)

Dash of salt and pepper

150ml Alpro single soya (single cream alternative)

Firstly wash, peel and chop the carrots, parsnips, potatoes and leeks into small chunks, whilst waiting for the vegetable oil to heat up in a large pan. Once the oil is spitting reduce the heat and add all the vegetables into the pan, stir for 3-4 minutes or until the vegetables start to soften slightly.

IMG_1146

Mix a stock cube into a pint of boiling water, add to the pan and bring to the boil. Season the mixture with the salt and pepper and let it simmer for 20 minutes or until the vegetables are tender.

IMG_1147

Using a ladle or a large spoon, dish the mixture into a jug blender and blitz until smooth.

Then pour the smooth mixture back into the pan, add the Alpro single soya and reheat until hot enough to serve. Serve with a Granary wholemeal loaf and a dairy free spread.

IMG_1150

Whilst making this soup the aroma was delectable and just before I served it I had a sneaky taste and I loved it. However my family are very fussy when it comes to food, as my mum and sister are vegans, my dad and youngest sister are meat eaters, and I’m stuck in the middle being a vegetarian. But to my surprise this leek and potato soup went down a treat with everyone, and there were clean bowls all around.

Although this dish takes about an hour to prepare and make it’s well worth the effort and perfect for a little something to do on a rainy day to impress your whole family or even just yourself.

Leave a Reply

